Newsroom » Press Releases


Iowa Gaming Association Elects Sharon Haselhoff 2017 Chair of Board of Directors

  • Spread The News

Sharon Haselhoff, General Manager of Grand Falls Casino and Golf Resort in Larchwood, Iowa, was elected  2017 Chair of the Iowa Gaming Association (IGA) at its annual board of directors meeting.

Ms. Haselhoff has more than 10 years of experience in the casino industry and the political arena at the local, state and national level. She began her gaming career in 2006, when she became the Public Relations Director at Riverside Casino and Golf Resort in Riverside, Iowa. In 2008, Ms. Haselhoff led a successful campaign for a casino resort to be built in Lyon County. She subsequently became the General Manager of Grand Falls Casino & Golf Resort leading the daily activities of the $120 Million property and its 500 employees.

Wes Ehrecke, IGA President & CEO, noted that strong leadership would continue with Haselhoff replacing Gary Palmer as IGA Chair.

“Sharon’s extensive experience in the gaming industry, her in-depth understanding of the political and regulatory arenas and proactive involvement in the IGA’s Women Leaders in Gaming initiative makes her a valuable ambassador to serve as the 2017 board chair,” Ehrecke said.

Ms. Haselhoff earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science at Iowa State University. She also serves as a board member for the Lyon County Economic Development Advisory Board, a Diplomat on the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Board of Directors for the Sioux Falls Areas Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Iowa State University College of Human Sciences Dean’s Advisory Board.She is a 2016 recipient of the Sioux Falls Sales and Marketing Executives Women in Business’s ‘Women Mentoring Women’ Award and a 2009 recipient of the Corridor Business Journal (Cedar Rapids-Iowa City area) 40 Under 40 Award.

Other IGA officers elected were:

Vice Chair—Nancy Ballenger, Vice President and General Manager, Isle of Capri Casino Bettendorf.
Treasurer—Kim Pang, General Manager, Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood
Secretary—Todd Moyer, General Manager, Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, Sioux City

Other Board Members elected to represent each of the other 19 commercial casinos during the IGA’s annual meeting of the members include:
Ameristar--Monty Terhune
Catfish Bend--Rob Higgins
Diamond Jo Dubuque--Wendy Runde
Harrah’s--Bo Guidry
Horseshoe--Janae Sternberg
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo--Todd Connelly
Lady Luck--Don Ostert
Lakeside Hotel Casino--Bob Thursby
Mystique--Jesús Avilés
Prairie Meadows--Brian Wessels
Rhythm City--Mo Hyder
Riverside Casino & Golf Resort--Dan Franz
Wild Rose, Clinton--Steve Nauman
Wild Rose, Emmetsburg--Amy Rubel
Wild Rose, Jefferson--Travis Dvorak

« Return