Newsroom » Press Releases


Joe Massa Elected 2011 IGA Board Chair

  • Spread The News

DES MOINES – Joe Massa, Chief Operating Officer of Kehl Management, has been elected as the 2011 chair of the Iowa Gaming Association, (IGA). At its annual board of directors meeting, the IGA elected Massa, and a slate of new officers.

Massa has worked in casino management for more than twenty years and has been key to the management and development of a number of Iowa casinos including Riverside Casino and Golf Resort, Catfish Bend, and Lakeside Casino and Resort. His current role as COO includes the continued management of Riverside Casino and the development and management of the soon to be opened Grand Falls Casino near Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Wes Ehrecke, IGA President and CEO noted that strong leadership for the industry would continue with Massa replacing Jane Bell as IGA Chair. “Joe has extensive experience in the gaming industry and takes an active role in the communities he has worked in," said Ehrecke. "Joe has served on the IGA board for the past decade and his many years of casino management and his financial background make him uniquely qualified to take the helm as Chair,” Ehrecke said.

Massa is currently serving as an Advisory Council Member for the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago and has previously worked in banking and insurance positions. He also served in administration at the University of South Dakota and holds a BS degree in Economics and a MBA in Finance and Administration.

Other Officers elected include:

Vice Chair: Mo Hyder, General Manager, Rhythm City Casino in Davenport

Treasurer: Gary Palmer, President and CEO, Prairie Meadows Casino, in Altoona

Secretary: Tom Timmons, Vice President of Operations; Wild Rose Casino and Resort in Emmetsburg and Clinton
Other board members elected during the recent IGA annual meeting of members include:
Jane Bell, Director of Government and Community Affairs, Ameristar Casino, Council Bluffs

Kees Eder, General Manager, Argosy Casino, Sioux City
Jerry Baum, General Manager; Catfish Bend Casino, Burlington
Scott Cooper, General Manager; Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque
Kim Pang, General Manager, Diamond Jo Worth Casino, Northwood
Bo Guidry, General Manager; Harrah's Casino & Hotel and Horseshoe Casino & Greyhound Park, Council Bluffs
Janae Sternberg, Vice President of Finance; Harrah's Casino & Hotel and Horseshoe Casino & Greyhound Park, Council Bluffs
Nancy Donovan, General Manager; Isle of Capri Casino, Bettendorf
Bari Richter, General Manager, Isle of Capri Casino, Waterloo
Todd Steffen, General Manager, Lady Luck Casino, Marquette
Roger Hoeger, Assistant General Manager, Mystique Casino, Dubuque
Bob Thursby, General Manager, Terrible’s Lakeside Casino, Osceola
Tim Bollmann, General Manager; Wild Rose Casino, Clinton

For more information, click on the IGA Leadership page under the What is the IGA section.

The IGA is an advocate for its members acting as a viable part of the state's economy and adding value to the entertainment and tourism industry.  The IGA's members are: Ameristar Casino Hotel – Council Bluffs; Argosy Casino – Sioux City; Catfish Bend Casino – Burlington; Diamond Jo Casino – Dubuque; Diamond Jo Worth Casino – Northwood; Harrah's Casino Hotel – Council Bluffs; Horseshoe Casino & Bluffs Run Greyhound Park – Council Bluffs; Isle of Capri Casino – Bettendorf; Isle of Capri Casino – Waterloo; Lady Luck Casino – Marquette; Mystique – Dubuque; Prairie Meadows – Altoona; Riverside Casino and Golf Resort – Riverside;  Rhythm City Casino -  Davenport; Terrible's Lakeside Casino – Osceola; Wild Rose Casino – Clinton and Wild Rose Casino – Emmetsburg.

« Return